22
the book of the best architects 22 award

91 projects on 440 pages


«Inquiries into colour, material manipulation and tectonic invention produced some delightfully thoughtful projects. Whereas, for the lack of a better term, the «post modern» projects struck more eclectic tones where historical styles and formal inquiry were subject to playful interpretations and idiosyncratic solutions that caught me off guard, prompting me to look more closely at the projects. This is what the best architects award allows us to behold, not only exemplary projects, but also current trends and dynamic directions of our beloved profession.» (Sandy Attia, Modus Architects Brixen, Jurymitglied best architects 22)


91 winning projects
on 440 pages

In white screen printing on rough natural cardboard, the number 22 is arranged in such a way that a graphic "artwork" is created on the cover of the publication. The title "22" thus combines into a striking pattern and only becomes recognisable as such at second glance. Through insertions and additions, a harmonious whole is thus created - a strategy that is also found in some of the projects in the book.


The materiality and the process of making are the focus of the type of binding. With the experimental treatment of the material paper, its properties are changed in such a way that a coarse-grained but at the same time fluffy surface is created at the book's edge. Texture, surface and haptics give the book an extraordinary presence and form a worthy prelude to the world of award-winning architecture.

best architects 22

78,- €

ISBN 978-3-946021-06-3

32.5 x 23.5 cm

thread bound

440 pages / german/english

312 photographs

480 plans and drawings

22
das buch zum best architects 22 award

91 projekte auf 440 seiten


«Die Auseinandersetzung mit Farbe, Materialbearbeitung und tektonischem Erfindungsreichtum führte zu einigen wunderbar durchdachten Entwürfen. Die – in Ermangelung eines besseren Begriffs – ‹postmodernen› Entwürfe hingegen schlugen eklektischere Töne an, wo historische Stile und formale Untersuchungen in spielerische Interpretationen und eigenwillige Lösungen einflossen, die mich überraschten und mich dazu veranlassten, mir die Entwürfe genauer anzusehen. Der ‹best architects award› ermöglicht es uns, nicht nur beispielhafte Arbeiten, sondern auch aktuelle Trends und dynamische Tendenzen unseres geliebten Berufs zu sehen.» (Sandy Attia, Modus Architects Brixen, Jurymitglied best architects 22)


91 Gewinnerprojekte
auf 440 Seiten

In weißem Siebdruck auf rauem Naturkarton wird die Zahl 22 so arrangiert, dass auf dem Cover der Publikation ein grafisches «Artwork» entsteht. Der Titel «22» verbindet sich dadurch zu einem plakativen Muster und wird erst auf den zweiten Blick als solcher erkennbar. Durch Einfügungen und Ergänzungen entsteht so ein harmonisches Ganzes – eine Strategie, die sich auch bei einigen Projekten im Buch wiederfindet.


Die Materialität und der Prozess des Herstellens stehen bei der Art der Bindung im Fokus. Mit der experimentellen Bearbeitung des Materials Papier werden dessen Eigenschaften derart verändert, dass am Buchschnitt eine grobkörnige, zugleich aber auch flauschige Oberfläche entsteht. Textur, Oberfläche und Haptik verleihen dem Buch eine außergewöhnliche Präsenz und bilden einen würdigen Auftakt in die Welt der ausgezeichneten Architektur.

best architects 22

78,- €

ISBN 978-3-946021-06-3

32.5 x 23.5 cm

fadengebunden

440 Seiten / Deutsch/Englisch

312 Farbfotos

480 Pläne und Zeichnungen