best architects 19
publication

The winning projects for 2019

Why are architecture prizes like the «best architects» Award, today one of the most prestigious in Europe, so important? The answer is as simple as it is obvious: «They give the profession an opportunity to form a picture of what’s happening at the moment,» says Jonathan Sergison of Sergison Bates architects from London/Zurich, a member of this year’s «best architects» jury. And the documentation of the award plays a key role in this respect.
 

Among publications accompanying awards, «best architects 19» stands out once again in terms of both content and design. As in previous years, the thorough documentation of the award-winners is already impressive in terms of size alone. The book presents this year’s «best architects» on a total of 400 pages. Of the many projects submitted, 70 were honoured with the label «best architects 19» and 12 were distinguished for particularly outstanding quality with the award «best architects 19 in Gold». Each winning project is illustrated and described in detail on two double-page spreads.

82 winning projects
on 400 pages

This year’s «best architects» publication pays tribute to classical book art. With painstaking craftsmanship and technical know-how, the traditional book form with curved spine has been reinterpreted in modern and abstract fashion. The binding was developed in Switzerland especially for «best architects 19». Taking advantage of the resulting flowing transition between the front cover, spine and back cover, the title, «XIX», runs across the entire «skin» of the book, which must be examined as a whole in order to discover it.


The string of characters «XIX» not only represents the year of the current edition but also graphically evokes the concept of the binding. Coarse, deep-black linen, likewise newly developed in Switzerland, was used for the cover and then screen-printed with loving attention to detail. The new book is hence an «artwork» that does justice to the «award-winning» content.

best architects 19

86,- €


ISBN 978-3-946021-03-2

32.5 x 23.5 cm

hardcover / cloth-bound

400 pages / german/english

273 photographs

442 plans and drawings

best architects 19
publikation

Die Gewinner des

best architects 19 Award

Warum sind Architekturpreise wie der «best architects»-Award, der mittlerweile zu den renommiertesten Auszeichnungen in Europa gehört, so wichtig? Die Antwort ist ebenso einfach wie einleuchtend: «Sie geben dem Berufsstand die Möglichkeit, sich ein Bild von der aktuellen Lage zu machen», wie es Jonathan Sergison von Sergison Bates architects aus London/Zürich und diesjähriges Mitglied der «best architects»-Jury formuliert. Dabei spielen die begleitenden Dokumentationen eine wichtige Rolle.


Unter ihnen sticht die Publikation «best architects 19» sowohl inhaltlich als auch gestalterisch wieder einmal heraus. Wie in den Jahren zuvor ist sie – schon vom Umfang her – eine beeindruckende Dokumentation geworden. Auf insgesamt vierhundert Seiten präsentiert sie die diesjährigen Gewinner des «best architects»-Awards. Von den zahlreich eingereichten Projekten wurden 70 mit dem Label «best architects 19» ausgezeichnet. 12 Arbeiten erhielten, für ihre besonders herausragende Qualität, die Auszeichnung «best architects 19 in Gold». Die Gewinnerprojekte werden wie immer auf zwei Doppelseiten umfangreich bebildert und beschrieben.

82 Gewinnerprojekte
auf 400 Seiten

Die diesjährige Ausgabe der «best architects»-Publikation versteht sich als Hommage an die klassische Buchkunst. Mit viel Handarbeit und technischem Know-how wurde die klassische Form des Buches mit rundem Rücken auf moderne und abstrakte Weise neu interpretiert. Die verwendete Bindung wurde eigens für «best architects 19» in der Schweiz entwickelt. Der dadurch entstehende fließende Übergang zwischen Vorderseite, Rücken und Rückseite des Buches wurde genutzt, um den Titel über die gesamte «Haut» des Covers laufen zu lassen.


Der Buchtitel «XIX» erschließt sich daher erst bei genauem Betrachten des gesamten Buches. Die Zeichenfolge «XIX» bildet nicht nur die Jahreszahl der aktuellen Ausgabe, sondern nimmt auch grafisch das Konzept der Buchbindung mit auf. Das grobe, tiefschwarze Leinenmaterial des Einbandes ist ebenfalls eine Neuentwicklung aus der Schweiz, die mit viel Liebe zum Detail im Siebdruck bedruckt wurde. Das neue Buch ist also ein «Artwork», das dem «ausgezeichneten» Inhalt gerecht wird.

best architects 19

86,- €


ISBN 978-3-946021-03-2

32.5 x 23.5 cm

Hardcover fadengebunden mit Leineneinband

400 Seiten / Deutsch/Englisch

273 Farbfotos

442 Pläne und Zeichnungen